Parisville

2011 FILM FAVOURITES: #11 – Super 8

Super 8 is movie magic. It reminds me so much of what makes Spielberg’s early work so brilliant. It’s like Close Encounters of the Third Kind but with kids and *cough Close Encounters happens to be my favorite of all of Spielberg’s films.

There is so much to love about this film, I’m not even sure where to begin. The cast is ideal. Riley Griffiths is pretty much my favorite kid alive. I want to be his best friend. Oh, and Elle Fanning’s too, but mostly I just want to be her. Speaking of Elle, that girl. is. going. to. go. FAR. Holy shit. Her and Joel Courtney could act circles around 80% of most Hollywood actors.

You guys, I feel stupid trying to explain what a happy movie this is. Has anyone ever seen it and NOT liked it? Legit question. Leave a comment below and tell me if that is the case because I don’t believe you. It’s just generally one of the most enjoyable nights out at the cinema I’ve had in ages. It’s a modern day classic, I’m telling you. JJ Abrams, you’ve cemented my admiration for you with this piece. Good work, sir.

“DRUGS ARE SO BAD.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

