Parisville

2011 FILM FAVOURITES: #8 – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

I’m gonna make this clear. I have read the book and I have seen the original Swedish film. I AM A FAN OF THEM ALL. I love the book, I f’n love the original film and you know what? This one is equally as brilliant. I really don’t intend on comparing it to the 2009 film, though it’s hard not to. I’m probably going to do it anyways by accident, whatever.

David Fincher’s take on the Millenium trilogy thus far is quite an accomplishment. The framing is really tight and adds to the invasive tone of the entire film. The cinematography here is much crisper, a lot colder than what I can remember of the original film. Of the Swedish film trilogy, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was the one I wasn’t entirely sold on just because the pacing of the first two-thirds of the film felt off to me, though I still wonder if it might just be a problem I have with the source material. Nonetheless, it worked a lot better for me here whereas my biggest problem in Fincher’s film was the chemistry between the two protagonists, Mikael Blomkvist and Lisbeth Salander. Daniel Craig and Rooney Mara individually? Fan-f’n-tastic. Rooney Mara, in particular, I have a big ol’ LESSSSBIANNN crush on you (said in my best Janis Ian voice, duh) and I insist you make movies for the rest of all eternity. The lack of award consideration for Rooney Mara’s performance is unforgivable. (Anyways back on track) I suppose I just prefer the chemistry that develops between Michael Nyqvist and Noomi Rapace’s portrayals more.

But wait, let’s go back to the endless praise I have for this adaptation. Like. THE SCORE. Oh my sweet lord, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross are miracle workers. More things I love: THE OPENING CREDITS. My brain thinking about those opening credits: gkjsdkhgskdlrdsdysd. And oh my god, the humour! This movie was hilarious. I was laughing at times to the point where I actually could not stop. Forever a favorite thing: the fact that Blomkvist just calls his sometimes-pet cat….”cat.” Or Lisbeth’s boss escape from the metro thief.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

